Anti Ragging Committee

Anti-Ragging Committee of GNLU

Ragging is a form of abuse on newcomers to any institution and to check the menace of ragging, Gujarat National Law University has constituted Anti-Ragging Committee. Ragging is defined as: "Any disorderly conduct whether by words spoken or written or by an act which the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness any other student, indulging in rowdy or indisciplined activities which causes or is likely to cause annoyance, hardship or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in a fresher or any other student or asking the students to do any action perform something which such student will not do in the ordinary course and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of a fresher or any other student."

Ragging in the University campus is absolutely banned and, hence, any student found indulging in an act of ragging shall meet strict disciplinary action, which may include immediate rustication from the University. The main objectives of the Anti-Ragging Committee are as follows:

  • To make the students aware of dehumanizing effect of ragging inherent in its perversity;
  • To keep a continuous watch and vigil over ragging so as to prevent its occurrence and recurrence;
  • To promptly and stringently deal with the incidents of ragging brought to our notice;
  • To generate an atmosphere of discipline by sending a clear message that no act of ragging shall be tolerated and any act of ragging shall not go unnoticed and unpunished.

Following are the members of the Anti-Ragging Committee:

  • Prof. (Dr.) S. Shanthakumar, Director, Gujarat National Law University, Mobile No.: 9999596666 (Convenor)
  • Dr. Mahesh L. Chaudhary, Chief Warden, Mobile No.: 8128684329 (Co-Convenor)
  • Ms. Prabhavati Baskey, Warden, Girls Hostel, Mobile No.: 8128684322 (Member)
  • Mr. Sanjeev Kumar Choudhary, Warden, Boys Hostel, Mobile No.: 8128650872 (Member)
  • Dr. K. Parameswaran, Convenor, Centre for Post-Graduate Legal Studies (CPGLS) (Standing Committee) Mobile No.: 8128650839 (Member)
  • Dr. Saurabh Anand, Head, Alumni Affairs, Mobile No.: 8128650808 (Member)
  • Mr. Bharatkumar Chawda, Section Officer, Hostel Administration, Mobile No.: 8128650830 (Member)
  • Mr. Kalpesh Prajapati, Section officer, Hostel Administration, Mobile No.: 8128650882 (Member)
  • Ms. Manisha Gelot, Senior Clerk, Girls Hostel, Mobile No.: 8128650861 (Member)
  • Mr. S. J. Rajput (Representative of Police Administration)
  • Mr. Satish Raval (Representative from Media, Divya Bhaskar)
  • Mr. Sharda Prasad (Representative from Parent)
  • Mr. Devendra (Representative from NGO, ESI, Sughad)
  • Mr. Jagrat Shah (Student Representative – Fifth Year)
  • Ms. Shraddha Sriram (Student Representative – Fourth Year)
  • Manas Vivek Divetia (Student Representative – First Year)

Students and parents may kindly feel free to contact any of the aforementioned authorities should they require any information regarding the Committee and it's functioning.


Anti Ragging Video


Anti Ragging Poster

Kindly register your complaint by clicking on the below link :
Points to Remember :